It’s a Trap! Gendered Stereotypes!

Came across this image earlier today and it really got me thinking. So I think I’ll address this square by square.

Square 1: why is it all important to ‘get laid’? Some people simply aren’t interested in sex or they have other priorities. Being a relationship doesn’t define anyone’s worth. One would think that in the 21st century a woman (or man!) could dress however they please without being judged based on whether or not they’ll get laid.

Square 2: Rape culture. For heaven’s sake people, again we are in the 21st freaking century. How someone is dressed is NEVER an excuse to assault them sexually or otherwise. I’ve heard so many people (including girls!) making jokes about how someone was ‘asking for it’ because how they were dress. It make me so sad and upset to hear those things. It’s contributing to rape culture.

Square 3: as someone who genuinely enjoys video games this drives me NUTS. Yes I like video games and I am a female. NO i’m not doing it to impress a man. SURPRISE!! The only reason girls aren’t more involved with technological things from a young age is because its not marketed towards us. Boys get video games, girls get dolls. I don’t see how a video game is inherently a male centered activity?

Square 4: Again contributing to rape culture by calling a woman a whore/slut/fake plastic bitch (assumingly) because of her outfits. A woman (or man) can dress however makes them feel happy. For some this might means sweats and baseball caps all day every day, for others it might mean short skirts and crop tops. Of course you should maintain a sense of professionalism and modesty (all genders not just females!) but it doesn’t mean jack about the frequency of your sexual activity if you wear certain clothes.

Square 5: This is how I feel a lot of the time since I’m in college and about to graduate. My boyfriend and I are considering living together for both economical and personal reasons. I really have no idea what I want to do with my life going forward from here. But I’m terrified that I’m going to hear from my family and friends that I’m ‘wasting my degree’ just because I don’t have some high-rise job in Indianapolis or something. Maybe I will just be a mom and write on the side. Maybe my husband will bring home the bacon or whatever. It doesn’t matter as long as I’m happy. I’m not wasting my life and frankly metaphorical strangers, it is none of your business.

Square 6: Again same sort of situation. If I stay at home with my supposed family I’m wasting my life. If I go out to work then I’m abandoning my family.

As a young woman about to embark out into the world all of these fears are very real for me. You can’t win against a society who wants you to lose. No matter what I’m not conforming to some sort of gendered stereotype and I’m a failure. This a overwhelming amount of the world’s views women. If that doesn’t scare you and piss you off then you’re doing something wrong. It’s a trap and it’s been there since before you were born. The only way to beat it is to step outside of the rules and declare loudly and proudly “I do not accept these gendered boundaries you have created. I’m going to live my life in a way to makes myself and those around me happy. Thank you and godspeed.”

What do you think?

