Men – Second Class Citizens?

So this happened…. Suzanne Venker has declared that there is a war on the White American Male. I can bullshit.

You can read the article here. The portion below is my response…

As a young woman reading this article I find it very disturbing. I have been raised by conservative and religious people my entire life. I am realizing that this is not the only way to live my life. Does this mean I hate traditional values? Of course not.

I will begin by stating that I am a feminist. To me this means that I believe in equal rights for EVERYONE. Not only women but EVERYONE. If at anytime you feel as though I am being unfair towards a group please feel free to point it out after you have referred back to this point.

The idea that the White American Male is under attack is ludicrous. A quick look at any American history book will show that it is white men who have been in control of this country from the beginning. How can you be oppressed by something you created?

I understand where this misconception came from. Women have come out of the woodwork lately to cry that they are being oppressed and they feel that things are not fair to them. I would agree. It is incredibly disheartening to know that I cannot go out into the work place and command the respect a male colleague with the same experience would simply because of my gender. However, this does not mean that women are suddenly trying to push men underneath them and rise up and put men into the place where women once were. That is the exact opposite of feminism.

Feminist stereotypes are that we are men hating, lesbians, who never shave, and can’t take a joke. I have been in a committed relationship for three years with a man who loves me very much. In our relationship I am the primary provider. Does this mean I lord this over him? Of course not. He would not do that to me if he was paying for the bills. Why? Because we compromise. We work together.  I shave regularly in case you were curious.

This is not to say that there are not those people out there. But they do not make up the whole. I want to live in a world where nothing matters but my skills. My gender, race, age, physical beauty, physical deformities etc. should not interfere with how I am looked at by other people. They simply do not matter. Do I rub the fact that I am able to have children in my partner’s face? No, it simply isn’t important to me. It isn’t who I am. Who I am is what I think and how I see the world. It has nothing to do with the outward appearance of my body.

Men are not being oppressed. You are simply seeing women act as men have for the last century. We are working hard to get a place in the world. Do not fear the minority but rather listen to the majority of women in your life, especially the young women, you will hear stories of every day sexism that will amaze you.

Do not harden your hearts to the things that happen around you. Be open to everyone’s opinion and they will be open to yours.

What do you think?

