I need feminism because…

Why do YOU need feminism?

I need feminism because my dad still believes it is ok to pay a woman less money for her work because she ‘might get pregnant’. He believes that since the company knows this is a possibility they are recouping their possible losses by paying women less.

What if I never have children?

You will, he says.

Ok well, for the sake of argument, what if I don’t have children while I’m with that company? Should my lack of pay be rewarded back to me?

No.

Why?

He had no answer. At least not one that satisfied me.

I don’t want to go out into the workforce knowing that I will be discriminated against for my chromosomes. I can work just as hard or harder than any man I know.

The world isn’t fair. Feminism aims to make it fair.

What do you think?

